h1

Oh, Minion!

July 22, 2009

When I went to Eastern on Monday (for the canapes and open bar, John), I was killing time on the second floor of Pray-Harrold when who should appear but former!Minion (f!M). I hired him back in 2008 and got all kinds of flack from HR over it, because of his “youthful indiscretions.” And yes, I’m euphemizing like crazy here, but I’m also speaking a truth, because by the time he applied to former!employer, he’d cleaned up his act and gotten his head screwed on straight.

Anyway, last November, while I was on vacation, former!EvilBoss (f!EB) spoke with f!M about the work he was doing and asked, “Can you run all this equipment when Tara is gone?” F!M answered accurately, “Yes, I can.”

Two weeks later, I was out of there, and I was cackling a bit, too, because f!EB screwed the pooch on the question he asked. What he should have asked was, “Are you fully trained on all of the procedures that require the use of this equipment?” If he’d asked that, f!M would have answered (accurately), “No, I’m not.”

Fast forward to last month, when I received a call from a friend who still works there. She called to tell me that f!M finally got fed up and walked out of there. He was being micromanaged to within an inch of his life, which was stupid, because a) micromanagement is extremely counterproductive; b) he was never the type of employee who would respond well to that sort of management; and c) he was still the only person left who had even half a clue about what I used to do. So they pushed him to the edge, and he stepped over it, leaving them to their own devices.

Anyway, this story has a happy ending, because the reason he left was to return to school (a plan I was all for even when I was his boss) for additional accreditation. It was good to see him, partly because I never had a chance to say goodbye to him in person. I was handed my walking papers after he’d left for the day and was expected to clear out my desk that night (trufax: they asked me to stay late so they could terminate my employment).

Okay, time to garden [eyes CSS Zen Flowerpot]. Catch y’all on the flip side.

2 comments

  1. I just want to hear about f!M’s youthful indiscretions. Do you have pictures?


    • They weren’t the picture-worthy sorts, sorry. Plus, he was a minion. He was there to do my bidding. Why would I need pictures of something that didn’t involve me?

      [is happily self-involved]



Leave a Reply

