h1

40 years ago today, I was…

July 20, 2009

…whining big-time about not being able to watch what I wanted on television and being dragged over to Uncle Carl and Aunt Vivian’s house and I didn’t want to watch the news and it’s boring and I don’t care what that man is doing and when can we go home…

Clearly, I had no appreciation for the historic moment, but I do remember being told to shut up and watch, because it was important. Ah, family. But they were right, because watching Armstrong take that step on the moon remains a hugely important memory for me, and I’ll always be grateful to have it.

So, in honor of this anniversary, I’ll share with you the image I use for wallpaper on my MacBook.

Earth, as seen from the moon, courtesy of NASA.

Earth, as seen from the moon, courtesy of NASA.

Pretty, innit?

Leave a Reply

