h1

Words for the morning

July 1, 2009

Had Chalice Circle last night, and we opened with words from Uvavnuk, an Inuit shaman:

The great sea has set me in motion,
set me adrift,
moving me like a weed in the river

The sky and the strong wind
have moved the spirit inside me
till I am carried away
trembling with joy.

These words hit home for me, especially, “The great sea has set me in motion.” I feel that’s what happened when I lost my job, but at the same time, I don’t feel particularly helpless against the tides and currents. I have sufficient control over the direction I’m going to know I won’t be left on an unknown shore, yet I have little enough control that I’m worried the shoals will trap me. Even so, even with the fear, I can’t help but be excited. I’ve been knocked way the hell out of my safety zone, and I’m stretching my brain in ways I haven’t had to for years. Life is interesting again (and yes, scary as shit), and “I am carried away, trembling with joy.”

Leave a Reply

