h1

Interesting conversation

August 23, 2009

Cesperanza pointed out this post, which I thought was immediately recognizable as satire, but further down in the comments, you see people coming in who pretty much missed the point. Skud shut down comments on that post and set up a second post to explain the first post.

It’s an interesting conversation all the way around, because really, the thing is that depending on where you are in the blogosphere, there’s a reasonable chance that the bloggers will skew toward one gender or the other. In my fannish life, bloggers skew female (best guestimate for my experience is 95% female), but more to the point is that unless I know the guy(s), I generally avoid blogs written by men, and that’s something I didn’t notice until I read the posts listed above.

Why do I avoid male bloggers? It’s a good question, and it’s one I’m going to have to think about.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

